Gridiron Bowl VIII

by Gridiron Media

Top Seeded Teams Battle for National Championship Title in Memphis 

Memphis,Tenn– Gridiron Bowl VIII is set - the Chattanooga Eagles and Oklahoma Thunder will battle for the National Championship Trophy on Saturday, August 26th.  It is only fitting that the teams with two best records (Chattanooga 9-1, Oklahoma is 10-0) compete for the Gridiron Bowl National Championship.

Coming off an Gridiron Bowl championship in 2016,  With the addition of key NFL free agents, Calvin Barnett, Antonio Gillespie,Lantz Mathers and Demont Burdine along with last years 2016 Gridiron Bowl MVP Shawn Jackson, the boasted a 10-0 record, continued a 24-game win streak and has brought the team to back-to-back championship appearances.  The Thunder look to bring another championship back to Tulsa on the 26 th and become the first team  ever to claim Back to Back National Championships in the Gridiron Developmental Football League.

The Eagles will make their first-ever appearance- The Eagles have also had a very strong 2017 showing. Head coach Hayden Clark's, Eagles look to steal the championship from the Thunder and celebrate a victory for the first time and make  history themselves by being the first ever inaugural team to win a National Championship in the most competitive league in the country on the developmental level.

Gridiron Bowl VII is going to be a battle of two Outstanding coaches between Thunder head coach Rashid Lowe and Eagles head coach Hayden Clark.  In five seasons as head coach, Lowe will be appearing in his second Gridiron Bowl championship with a 1-1 record. Clark will be who is entering his first ArenaBowl appearance ever.

The clash of superstars will be exciting to watch on the 26 th  Players to watch are list below.

Gridiron Bowl VIII will be an exciting game to watch.  This is the third time the game has been hosted Memphis,Tn which is the headquarters of the GDFL. The hard-hitting, high scoring, fast paced environment of the GDFL football will be on full display on the 26 th in Memphis!!! 

The Eagles vs Thunder on Saturday, August 26 at Kirby High School Stadium at 3 p.m.  The game will be broadcast live on Facebook live, Tickets are on sale now at


Thunder Highlighted players.

#2   from the University of Tulsa at Wide Receiver Trae Johnson

#27 from the University of Tulsa at Line Backer Dewitt Jennings 

#55 from the University of Tulsa your 3 time All American 2013 NCAA Conference USA player of   the Year at Linebacker Shawn Jackson.

#18 a 1st Team All American and All Time All Purpose Passing Leader from University of Central Oklahoma and your GDFL 2012, 2013, 2016 Passing Leader and two time GDFL National   Champion your Quarterback Brandon “B-NEW” Noohi.

#74 from the University of Oklahoma and former Dallas Cowboy at Offensive Line Billy “THE  BEAST” Blackard.

#88 from the University of Oklahoma at Wide Receiver Cameron Cotton

#9   from Henderson State University, he was Ranked #5 best Defensive End in Mississippi Collrett “CB” Boyd.

#13 from Northwestern Oklahoma State University at Line Backer B.J. “The HULK” Hodshire

#48 from the Langston University former AFL Utah Blaze at Defensive End Lionel Bibbins

#32 from Southwestern Collage and former Cleveland Brown your Defensive End Damont    Burdine

#94 from Troy University and former Cleveland Brown at Defensive Tackle Antonio Gillespie

#10 from Oklahoma State University, former Wide Receiver Brandon Shepherd

#91 From Oklahoma State University and former Miami Dolphin your Defensive Lineman Calvin Barnett. 

Calvin Barnett was named to the 2013 Lombardi Award watch list, an award presented annually to the nation’s top lineman or linebacker.was named to the 2013 Outland Trophy watch list also named to the 19-annual Bednarik Award watch list

#4   from Oklahoma State University, former Wide Receiver of the Las Vegas Locos your GDFL 2011 & 2013 Player of the Year Prentiss “THE SPIDERMAN” Elliott

Chattanooga Eagles Highlighted players

#29 from Miles College at middle linebacker Jonathon “J-Rob” Robinson 

#17 from Tennessee State University at wide receiver – Chris “C.J.” Deloney Jr.

#65 from Chattanooga State at center Ben Furman

#64 from Howard High School at 6’4” 310lbs your Left Tackle Clarence Wiley

#8 from Southern University two-time all-conference selection at Defensive Back Mark Pettaway

#60 from Tusculum College all-region and All-American honors recipient at Left Guard Hannibal “Roo” Ruiz

#21 from Eastern Kentucky University at Defensive Back Deno Montgomery 

#22 from Dodge City Community College at Defensive Back Darius Miller

#91 from Delta College at Defensive End Timothy McClendon

#23 your Signal Mountain High School All-Region honors recipient at Running Back Robert Turner

#90 from Concordia College your Defensive Tackle Hakeem Worthen

#5  from Tyner Academy in Chattanooga, Tennessee your Defensive Back Reginald “Ro” Caffey 

#26 from Mercer University at Line Backer Mark Fairbanks

#3 former Miami Marlins Center Fielder at QB Kolby Copeland